First awarded in 1901, the Nobel Prize medals depict Alfred Nobel (1833-1896).

© Nobel Media. Photo: Alexander Mahmoud

Nobel Prizes and Laureates

Awarded for “the greatest benefit to humankind”

Between 1901 and 2023, the Nobel Prizes and the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel were awarded 621 times to 1,000 people and organisations. The Nobel Prize is an international award administered by the Nobel Foundation in Stockholm, Sweden, and based on the fortune of Alfred Nobel, Swedish inventor and entrepreneur. In 1968, Sveriges Riksbank established The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel, founder of the Nobel Prize. Each prize consists of a medal, a personal diploma, and a cash award.

A person or organisation awarded the Nobel Prize is called Nobel Prize laureate. The word “laureate” refers to being signified by the laurel wreath. In ancient Greece, laurel wreaths were awarded to victors as a sign of honour.

See a full list of all Nobel Prize laureates.

Explore prizes and laureates

2023 Nobel Prizes

How much do you know about the discoveries awarded the 2023 Nobel Prizes? Take our one-minute crash course on each of the prizes and find out how each have changed our world.
Students with illustrations behind.

Prize categories

1901-2023: 117 prizes awarded to 225 laureates.

Gravity Waves Still Image

Two black holes collide producing gravitational waves

Image: LIGO/T. Pyle

1901-2023: 115 prizes awarded to 194 laureates.

Chemistry Illustration

Illustration of the Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2017

Image: The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences

1901-2023: 104 prizes awarded to 141 laureates.


ICAN works for the abolishment of nuclear weapons

Illustration: iStock

1901-2023: 55 prizes awarded to 93 laureates.


Richard Thaler was awarded the 2017 prize in economic sciences

Photo: iStock

The Nobel Prize

Questions and answers

Do you have questions about the Nobel Prize and the Nobel Prize laureates? Find answers to the most commonly asked questions in the FAQ.

What do the laureates receive?

Each diploma is a unique work of art, created by leading Swedish and Norwegian artists and calligraphers. Look at some of the diplomas here.

Doris Lessing - Nobel Diploma

Doris Lessing’s Nobel Diploma

© The Nobel Foundation 2007. Artist: Karin Mamma Andersson. Calligrapher: Annika Rücker. Photo reproduction: Fredrika Berghult

The front of the gold Nobel Prize medals depict Alfred Nobel. The image on the reverse varies according to the institution awarding the prize. Read more about the medals.

Tu Youyou showing her Nobel Medal

Tu Youyou showing her Nobel Prize medal, 11 December 2015.

© Nobel Media. Photo: Alexander Mahmoud.

The current amount is at SEK 11 million per full Nobel Prize. A Nobel Prize can be awarded to up to three laureates who share the prize sum. Find out more about the prize amounts throughout history.

Flower decorations at the 2016 Nobel Prize award ceremony

Flower decorations by Florist Helén Magnusson at the Nobel Prize award ceremony at the Stockholm Concert Hall, 10 December 2016.

© Nobel Media. Photo: Pi Frisk.